Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.
CHAPIN MEMORIAL LIBRARY
A public library operated by the City of Myrtle Beach
Hours :
Wednesday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
EDT
Press enter or spacebar to select a desired language.

Ready Reference Desk

DISCLAIMER: The links below are provided as a convenience and are for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by the Chapin Memorial Library or the City of Myrtle Beach of any of the products, services or opinions of the corporation or organization or individual. The Library bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content of the external websites or for that of subsequent links.


Automotive
Edmunds Auto Guide https://www.edmunds.com
Fuel Economy and MPG Ratings http://www.fueleconomy.gov
Gas Buddy http://www.gasbuddy.com
iSeeCars (Free CarFax Report) https://www.iseecars.com
Kelley Blue Book https://www.kbb.com
NADA http://www.nada.com
SC DMV - Driver's Manual http://scdmvonline.com
Vehicle History https://www.vehiclehistory.com
Vehicle History https://www.vehiclehistory.gov
Vehicle Safety Information https://www.safercar.gov
Consumer & Business Information
Avoiding Social Engineering and Phishing Attacks https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/news/avoiding-social-engineering-and-phishing-attacks
Before Giving to a Charity https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0074-giving-charity
Better Business Bureau http://www.bbb.org/myrtle-beach
Bureau of Consumer Protection https://www.consumer.ftc.gov
Charity Navigator https://www.charitynavigator.org
Consumer Product Safety Commission https://www.cpsc.gov
Eliminate Unwated Catalogs https://www.catalogchoice.org
National Insurance Crime Bureau https://www.nicb.org
Product reviews, news & price comparisons https://www.cnet.com
Standard Industrial Classification https://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sicsearch.html
Staying Alert to Disaster-related Scams https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/dealing-weather-emergencies#stayingalert
Staying Safe on Social Networking Sites https://www.cisa.gov/news-events/news/staying-safe-social-networking-sites

Credit Bureaus
Equifax https://www.equifax.com/personal
Experian http://www.experian.com
Free Credit Reports https://www.annualcreditreport.com/index.action
TransUnion http://www.transunion.com

Dictionaries / Quotations / Acronyms
Acronym Finder http://www.acronymfinder.com
Bartleby Quotations http://www.bartleby.com/quotations
Dictionary http://www.dictionary.com
Miriam Webster https://www.merriam-webster.com
Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymezone.com
Thesaurus http://www.thesaurus.com

Education
Affordable Colleges Online https://www.affordablecollegesonline.org
College Rankings https://www.usnews.com/best-colleges
GED Information http://hcae.horrycountyschools.net/pages/HorryCountyAdultEducation/GED_Testing
Horry County Schools https://www.horrycountyschools.net/
Kahn Academy https://www.khanacademy.org
Online Practice Tests https://www.testprepreview.com
Peterson's (College Information) https://www.petersons.com
US Department of Education https://www.ed.gov

Employment
Got Resume Builder (FREE) https://www.gotresumebuilder.com
S.C. Dept. of Employment and Workforce (DEW) - Benefits Portal http://dew.sc.gov
S.C. Dept. of Employment and Workforce (DEW) - Job Search Portal https://jobs.scworks.org/vosnet
USA Jobs https://www.usajobs.gov

Entertainment
Free Sheet Music https://www.8notes.com
Internet Movie Database http://www.imdb.com
Lottery Results http://www.lotteryusa.com
Metacritic Reviews http://www.metacritic.com
South Carolina Education Lottery http://www.sceducationlottery.com
Urban Legends http://urbanlegends.about.com

Financial Information
Bankrate http://www.bankrate.com
Currency Converter https://www.oanda.com/currency/converter
Stock Quotes (Back to 1985) http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com

Genealogy
Civil War Maps https://historicalcharts.noaa.gov/CivilWar/
Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System https://www.nps.gov/civilwar/soldiers-and-sailors-database.htm
Family Genealogy & History Internet Education http://www.academic-genealogy.com
Find A Grave https://www.findagrave.com
Grand Strand Genealogy Club https://www.scgsgc.org/
Horry County Historical Society http://www.hchsonline.org
LDS Genealogy https://ldsgenealogy.com/
NCHS Vital Records https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w
Roots Web http://home.rootsweb.ancestry.com
US Gen Web Project:  State by State Information http://www.usgenweb.org

Geography / Maps / Travel
Countries A-Z http://www.atlapedia.com/online/country_index.htm
The Fifty States http://www.50states.com
Flight Aware - Live Flight Tracking http://flightaware.com
Google Maps - World Gazetteer http://www.maplandia.com
Mapquest https://www.mapquest.com
Myrtle Beach International Airport http://www.flymyrtlebeach.com
National Map https://apps.nationalmap.gov/viewer/
UT's Online Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps
Travel Distance Calculator http://www.mapcrow.info

Government
Citizenship and Immigration https://www.uscis.gov
USCIS Refugees and Asylees https://permanent.fdlp.gov/
Internal Revenue Service https://www.irs.gov
National Traffic & Road Closures https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/trafficinfo
Patent & Trademark Office https://www.uspto.gov
Social Security Administration https://www.ssa.gov
South Carolina Government Online Services http://www.sc.gov
South Carolina Legislature http://www.scstatehouse.gov
US Census Bureau https://www.census.gov
US Postal Service http://www.usps.com
USA.gov https://www.usa.gov
World Factbook https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/

Grants
Chronicle of Philanthropy https://www.philanthropy.com
Foundation Center http://foundationcenter.org
Government Grants https://www.grants.gov
SC Commission for Higher Education https://www.che.sc.gov

Health & Medicine
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention CDC https://www.cdc.gov
LLR - Doctor License Lookup https://verify.llronline.com/LicLookup/LookupMain.aspx
Mayo Clinic http://www.mayoclinic.org
MedLine Plus https://medlineplus.gov
National Health Information Center https://healthfinder.gov
RxList http://www.rxlist.com/script/main/hp.asp
South Carolina Health Resources https://sc.gov/health-safety
US Department of Health & Human Services https://www.hhs.gov
WebMD http://www.webmd.com
Hurricane Preparedness
City of MB - Hurricane Preparedness https://www.cityofmyrtlebeach.com/departments/construction_services/hurricane_preparedness_plans.php
Coastal Flood Exposure Mapper https://coast.noaa.gov/floodexposure
FEMA - Make Your Own Flood Map https://msc.fema.gov/portal/search
Horry County Emergency Management https://www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/emergency-management/
Horry County Flood Maps http://www.horrycounty.org/gis/flood
Know Your Zone https://www.horrycountysc.gov/departments/emergency-management/hurricanes/know-your-zone/
National Hurricare Center https://www.nhc.noaa.gov
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) https://www.noaa.gov
SC Coastal Evacuation Routes http://www.scdot.org/getting/evacuation.aspx
SC Emergency Management https://www.scemd.org
Tropical Tidbits https://www.tropicaltidbits.com/analysis/models
Learn a Language
Duolingo https://www.duolingo.com/
Foreign Language Dictionary http://dictionaries.travlang.com
Foreign Service Institute Language Courses https://www.livelingua.com/fsi-language-courses.php
Google Translate https://translate.google.com
Microsoft Language Translator https://www.bing.com/translator

Legal Resources
Civil (non-criminal) Case Assistance http://www.sclegal.org
Free Legal Resources http://www.lawhelp.org/sc
Horry County Police Department http://police.horrycounty.org
Myrtle Beach Police Department http://police.cityofmyrtlebeach.com
SC Bar - Forms and Publications https://www.scbar.org/public/get-legal-help/free-forms-and-publications/
SC Law Enforcement Division - SLED http://www.sled.sc.gov

Local
Art in the Park http://discoversouthcarolina.com/products/25769
City of Myrtle Beach - Maps https://comb.maps.arcgis.com/home/index.html
Coast RTA (Bus Routes) http://coastrta.com/about-coast-rta
Myrtle Beach Airport https://www.flymyrtlebeach.com
SC Dept of Motor Vehicles http://www.scdmvonline.com
The Sun News http://www.myrtlebeachonline.com
Tide Tables - Springmaid Pier, Myrtle Beach, SC https://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/map
Waccamaw Audubon Society http://www.waccamawaudubon.org
Locating People
Anywho Phone Directory http://www.anywho.com/whitepages
Area Code Directory https://www.nationalnanpa.com/number_resource_info/area_code_maps.html
Crisscross and Reverse Directory http://www.infobel.com/en/world
Spokeo http://www.spokeo.com
Switchboard - Internet Phonebook http://www.switchboard.com
Whitepages https://www.whitepages.com
ZabaSearch http://www.zabasearch.com/search_menu
Zip Code Directory https://tools.usps.com/go/ZipLookupAction_input

MISC Reference
Artcyclopedia http://www.artcyclopedia.com
Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com
Calendars https://www.timeanddate.com/calendar
Measurement Converter http://m.convert-me.com/en
Wolfram Alpha http://www.wolframalpha.com

Research
Documents of American History https://www.ourdocuments.gov
Guinness World Records http://www.guinnessworldrecords.com
Information Please http://www.infoplease.com
Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues http://www.procon.org
Shmoop - Study Guides http://www.shmoop.com

Social Services
AA Meetings (Alcoholics Annonymous) Myrtle Beach Area http://area62.org/lookup.php
American Red Cross http://www.redcross.org/find-your-local-chapter?_requestid=373337
Clean of Heart - Catholic Charities of SC https://charitiessc.org/clean-of-heart
Department of Alcohol and other Drug Abuse Services https://www.daodas.sc.gov/
Department of Social Services https://dss.sc.gov/
Goodwill https://www.goodwill.org
Helping Hand of Myrtle Beach https://www.helpinghandmb.org
Horry and Georgetown County - Heroin Coalition http://www.heroincoalition.org/
NA Meetings (Narcotics Annonymous) Myrtle Beach http://www.sober.com/meetings/na
SC 211 (United Way) https://www.sc211.org
United Way of Horry County https://unitedwayhorry.org

Statistics
Consumer Price Index https://stats.bls.gov/news.release/cpi.nr0.htm
Salary & Wage Surveys https://www.bls.gov/ces
US Statistical Abstract https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html
Tax Forms
IRS https://www.irs.gov/forms-instructions
SC DOR https://dor.sc.gov/tax/individual-income/forms
NC DOR https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/individual-income-tax
Weather
National Weather Service http://www.weather.gov
The Old Farmer's Almanac http://www.almanac.com
The Weather Channel https://www.weather.com
Weather Underground https://www.wunderground.com

Writing & Citation
How to Cite Resources - Kimbel Library CCU https://libguides.coastal.edu/citing
Perdue Online Writing Lab (APA, MLA, AMA, Chicago styles) https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/resources.html

Zoning & Codes
City of Myrtle Beach, SC - Zoning Code https://www.cityofmyrtlebeach.com/departments/construction_services/current_zoning_code.php
City of Myrtle Beach, SC - Municipal Code of Ordinaces  https://library.municode.com/sc/myrtle_beach/codes/code_of_ordinances

Horry County, SC - Municipal Code of Ordinances

https://library.municode.com/sc/horry_county/codes/code_of_ordinances